The Write Time & Place!











{June 22, 2009}   Here I am…now what?

So, I’ve been toying with the idea of doing a blog or not…I decided to jump in with both, uhm, hands! I’m not sure I’m set yet on the appearance, but I figured it was a place to start.

I’m Valerie J. Patterson and I’m an author. Currently, I have three novels on the market. If you click on the Already on the shelf page, you’ll be transported to a page showcasing those books and where they can be purchased. Hopefully–if I can pull it all together–I’ll add an excerpt and a review or two for each book.

Click on New Releases to see what’s coming up, take a gander at new cover art, and read an excerpt.

I figure the more I get the hang of this, the better at the whole designing thing I’ll be and I can add pages as I need them.

So, if you’ve made it this far, I hope you’ll stick around and come back. Maybe lead a few others here with you!

Don’t forget to leave a comment when the mood strikes you. I’d love to hear from you!

vivaciousvixensofromance says:

Great image! I love the woman and the pose. The colors work really well too!



valeriejpatterson says:

Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting on the design! I’m glad you like “her”. I thought she had a bit of attitude. :o) Valerie



judeberman says:

Congrats, Valerie! This looks great!!

As to your question about posts on other pages, at least on the free version of WordPress, the answer is no. But then, why would you want to do that? You haven’t filled this page yet… πŸ˜‰

But seriously, you have already created other pages (About author, etc) in the way one usually does. People can leave comments there, too. And you will start to build an archive of posts as the months go by, so in that way your blog will have multiple pages with posts.

Actually, it is possible to have posts on another page, instead of this one. I did it when I posted my novel because I wanted the chapters to appear in correct order. Take a look at http://angelicakauffman.wordpress.com/
But it’s a lot of bother to set up, and the only reason to do it is something like posting many chapters.

Jude



valeriejpatterson says:

Thanks Jude. I will definitely check out the blog you recommended. I was thinking of posting excerpts and reviews on the extra pages much like you posted chapters. I’ll wait a little before I tackle that! πŸ˜› Valerie



Hey Valerie, dig the layout of this blog! Welcome to the wacky world o’ da blog. Have fun with it!

–Lisa
http://authorlisalogan.blogspot.com



Hi,
Congratulations. I love the image and agree she has an attitude. You’ve done well with the design.



KarenT says:

Great start, Valerie, just jumping in is probably the best thing to do. One of these days I will take my courage in both hands and do something bloggish also, but I have to keep my mind focussed on one thing at a time until I get the books I’m working on off to press. I also like the chick with attitude. If she comes with a Zimmer Frame I might use something like her when I start a blog!



valeriejpatterson says:

Thanks so much for visiting Lisa, Lavada, and Karen. Thanks for the comments. I still don’t know what I’ll fill it up with, but I guess the more comfortable I get, the easier it will be. Fingers crossed! πŸ˜›



Great looking blog! Welcome to the madness. I’ve had a blog for a while, sometimes I post serious stuff…occasionally. Usually, it’s just fun things that have snuck into my brain when I should be writing.

I’ve got you in my blog list now…..mawahahahahaha πŸ˜‰

Corinne
http://www.daviesromance.blogspot.com



valeriejpatterson says:

Thanks Corinne! I left a reply once today, but clearly did not hit enter or screwed it up somehow because it’s not showing. Thanks for adding me to your blog list. How do I add you and yours??

Valerie



I agree with the others that the image is very appealing. If you haven’t decided what to blog about, yet, you might consider letting your audience guide you. Ask visitors to leave comments about subjects they’d like to see here. Assuming you’ll soon attract aspiring writers, interested in the craft, your experiences as a published author will probably be a popular topic. Best of luck!



valeriejpatterson says:

Hi WriteAbout! Thanks for stopping by and for leaving the excellent suggestion! I certainly will ask for suggestions on what folks would like to see here. I never thought of that! πŸ˜›



Leave a Reply

et cetera
