The Write Time & Place!











{September 17, 2009}   On Changes…

Being from southwestern Pennsylvania has its advantages.  We have four–count ’em FOUR–very distinct seasons.  As an author, my creativity is stimulated by each changing season.  I love the beauty of nature no matter the time of year.  Here, my surroundings are preparing for that fabulous burst of color known as Autumn.

We have a screened in living space in which I spend a lot of time from late spring to early fall.  I have a fabulous swing that I usually put a writing table in front of, load up my laptop and a beverage of choice, and sit there and write.  Many times, I just sit and look around me.  A range of large hills–slightly too small to be called mountains–is directly across from me in a distance, but close enough to see the foliage changing color.  It’s spectacular in the Autumn, incredible in the winter during and directly after a snow fall, and breathtaking in the spring.  During the summer it’s…well…green.  A set of train tracks runs through it.  The whole setting is far enough away that when the train chugs by, it always looks like a miniature train set.

Currently, I notice that our cool evenings and hot, humid days are beginning to cause that chemical change in the trees and leaves are starting to show signs of color change.  I’m excited about that because I’ve been needing a creative charge.  I have the next book in the Myerson Mystery series written, but I need to get motivated to edit it and submit.  Thankfully, my friend Jay–also a writer–has graciously offered to help me with that.  But in order to begin sending him chapters, I need to go through them, make one more pass through and revise where necessary.  Then he’ll go through, add his comments and edit suggestions, and pass it back.

I was very fortunate to have his help with Honor Thy Neighbor.  And I greatly appreciate that.  Thanks, Jay!

I’m looking forward to Autumn so that I can get creatively recharged and get cracking on this manuscript.  Otherwise, readers might cool on the series and I can’t allow that to happen!

What’s your favorite time of the year?

Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
